Home > News


Thursday, June 29, 2017

Councillor Bird elected to CML Board

Westminster City Councillor Shannon Bird was elected to the Colorado Municipal League (CML) Executive Board and by municipal officials from around the state during the 95th Annual CML conference held June 20-23 in Breckenridge.

The CML Executive Board is comprised of 21 elected officials and key municipal staff members who are elected by the membership at an annual business meeting. The board is responsible for overall finances, management and policy affairs of the League. CML is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1923 and represents the interests of 269 cities and towns.

Shannon Bird has served on Westminster City Council since November 2015. 

She is an attorney with a background in public finance, commercial and corporate finance, and real estate development transactions. Bird has a J.D., M.B.A, M.S. in Finance and a B.A. in Economics. She is the Board Chair for the Five Star Education Foundation and a member of the Board of Commissioners for the Adams County Housing Authority. Bird is a founding member of Adams 12 CAN (Community Action Network), and has served on the Adams 12 Five Star Schools Policy Council, the Adams 12 District School Improvement Team, District Accountability Committee, the Lexington HOA Board of Directors and was the campaign chairperson of Citizens for Adams 12 Schools. She has also served as the President of the Meridian Elementary PTO for two years, the Vice President for one year and was a member of the City of Westminster Election Commission.

Also new to the Board:
Kendra Black, Denver council member
Jim Collins, Las Animas mayor
Daniel Dick, Federal Heights mayor
Kathleen Ann Sickles, Cedaredge administrator

Re-elected to the Board:
Ronnald Akey, Wray mayor
Liz Thomas Hensley, Alamosa council member
Matt LeCerf, Frederick town manager
Wade Troxell, Fort Collins mayor
Robert Widner, Centennial attorney
Kirby Wallin, Brighton mayor pro tem

Current Board Members:
Carol Dodge, Northglenn mayor pro tem
Dave Edwards, Palisade mayor pro tem
William Bell, Montrose city manager
Larry Atencio, Pueblo council member
Robb Casseday, Greeley council member
Barbara Cleland, Aurora council member
Kathy Hodgson, Lakewood city manager
Samantha Meiring, Firestone trustee
Patrick Rondinelli, Ouray city administrator
Dave Stone, Limon town manager

For more information on the Colorado Municipal League, please visit their website or call 303-831-6411.

Number of views (1589)/Comments ()

Recent News

All Articles

Newsletter Sign-up