photo credit

photo credit

About the Planning Division

The Planning Division is primarily responsible for the coordination and approval process for all proposed land development, and is involved in a number of special projects and long-term land use, urban design and planning activities. The division also performs inspections and enforces development plans and processes to general zoning requests.

Development Review Resources

Planning Services and Applications

Landscape Changes - Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

The City of Westminster Community Development Department staff regularly assist residents and businesses in Westminster seeking to update their landscaping with lower water using choices. The purpose of this FAQ is to clarify the process for landscape changes.

Special Event/Temporary Use 

Special Event Permit permit applications can be accessed by visiting the Parks, Recreation & Libraries Special Event Permits Page. 

  • Visit the parks rental facility page if you only want to rent a Park Pavilion, the Promenade Terrace or a room in a city facility; you do not need to complete the Special Events Permit application.
  • Visit the Standley Lake Regional Park application if you want to host a special event at the lake. Please contact Sully Tun-Ake at 303-658-2790.

Conditional and Special Use Permits

Request to apply for a review of a proposed use that is not an outright permitted use by right within a zoning category.  

Conditional Use Permit Application

Special Use Permit Application

 

 

Telecommunication

Request to modify or create a new telecommunication facility on public or private property

Telecommunications Submittal Guide for Applicants

Adjacent Property Owner Notice Letter Template

Small Cell Infrastructure Guidelines

Variances

Request to apply for a form of relief from the designated zoning requirements that would otherwise be prohibited by code.

Sign Variance 

Variance Application

 

Administrative Support

303-658-2092, planning@cityofwestminster.us

Planning Manager

John McConnell, Interim Planning Manager, 303-658-2474, jmcconne@cityofwestminster.us

Planning Staff

Stephanie Ashmann, Senior Planner, 303-658-2104, sashmann@cityofwestminster.us

Patrick Caldwell, Senior Planner, 303-658-2090, pcaldwel@cityofwestminster.us

David German, Senior Planner, 303-658-2479, dgerman@cityofwestminster.us

Amy Johnson, Senior Planner, 303-658-2098, ajohnson@cityofwestminster.us

Jacob Kasza, Senior Planner, 303-658-2123, jpkasza@cityofwestminster.us

Nathan Lawrence, Senior Planner, 303-658-2099, nlawrenc@cityofwestminster.us

Josh Vaughn, Associate Planner, 303-658-2101, jvaughn@cityofwestminster.us

Jennifer Baden, Associate Planner, 303-658-2097, jbaden@cityofwestminster.us

Long Range Planner

Andrew Spurgin, Long Range Planner, 303-658-2127, aspurgin@cityofwestminster.us

City Urban Designer
Sean McCartney, City Urban Designer, 303-658-2095, smccartn@cityofwestminster.us